Protect Yourself, Protect Your Rights. It Isn’t Just a Misdemeanor.

Criminal Law Blog

What to Know About Arizona’s Hit and Run Laws

Janet Altschuler, Tucson Attorney, works with domestic violence and criminal defense cases.

January 28, 2019

Arizona law requires every driver to stay at the scene of an accident. It doesn’t matter if you didn’t cause the accident or if no one appears to be hurt; the law still requires you to stop. If you have been accused of leaving the scene of an accident, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney promptly to learn about your legal rights and options.


Legal Obligations

The Arizona statute, Duty to Give Information and Assistance, prohibits drivers from leaving the scene of an accident until they have fulfilled certain obligations. After you’ve pulled over, you’re required to provide your name, address, and registration to the responding police officer or the other driver. You must show your driver’s license to the officer or other driver upon their request. If the other driver is injured, you are legally obligated to administer first aid and/or call for medical assistance.


Misdemeanor Charges

Depending on the circumstances, a hit and run driver may be charged with a misdemeanor for leaving the scene. The following situations fall into this category:


  • Class two misdemeanor: Leaving the scene when only vehicular damage has occurred
  • Class three misdemeanor: Leaving the scene when an accident has caused damage to non-vehicle property
  • Class three misdemeanor: Leaving the scene after striking a parked vehicle
  • Class three misdemeanor: Stopping at the scene, but refusing or failing to exchange information


Felony Charges

The potential criminal charges become more serious when an accident resulted in serious injury or death. A driver who caused an accident that resulted in a serious injury or death, and fled the scene may be charged with a class two felony. Even if the driver didn’t cause the accident, but fled the scene when serious injury or death occurred, the driver may be charged with a class three felony.

The law office of Janet Altschuler provides vigorous legal defense services for individuals accused of vehicular-related offenses. Individuals accused of hit and run offenses, DUI, or aggressive driving are urged to contact Ms. Altschuler’s law office in Tucson at (520) 247-1789.

Schedule a Free Initial Consultation to Discuss Your Situation.

Complete our online contact form
or call us at 520-247-1789

(24 hours a day / 7 days a week)