Spotlight on Juvenile DUI Offenses in Arizona
Arizona has extremely strict DUI laws for drivers of all ages, but the penalties for a juvenile DUI are particularly severe. If you are under age 21 and have been charged with a juvenile DUI, it’s important to get a criminal defense attorney to help you fight the case. With the help of an attorney, you may be able to prove the charges false or reduce the penalties if convicted. Here is what you need to know about juvenile DUI offenses in Arizona.
“Not a Drop” Law
Arizona has zero tolerance approach to underage drinking and driving. These kinds of laws, which are frequently referred to as “not a drop’ laws, mean that you don’t have to be above the legal limit to get a DUI if you are under 21. Instead, you can get a juvenile DUI if there is any sign of alcohol in your system at all. The penalties escalate if you are above the legal limit for adults. This distinction is important for young drivers, who frequently believe that they will be subject to the same standards as adults during a DUI stop. Instead, there is no legally permissible amount of alcohol for drivers under 21 to have in their systems.
Baby DUI and Beyond
Juvenile DUIs in which the driver is charged under the “not a drop” laws—meaning that they are not legally intoxicated but have alcohol in their systems—are sometimes called “baby” DUIs. This charge is a Class 2 misdemeanor and is punishable by a $750 fine, up to six months in jail, and a two-year license suspension.
If an underage driver is also over the legal limit of .08% BAC, he or she will be charged with a standard DUI, which carries higher fines and mandatory minimum of 24 hours in jail. The penalties continue to increase for extreme DUIs, with BACs of over .15% and super-extreme DUI, with BACs over .20%. For super-extreme DUIs, juveniles can face a minimum of 45 days in jail, fines of up to $2,500, plus the two-year license suspension.
Let Janet Altschuler fight for your rights if you are facing a juvenile DUI. Any criminal case is serious, so don’t delay in getting an experienced defense attorney in Tucson on your side. Schedule a case consultation today by calling (520) 829-4460.