Do You Know the Facts About Arizona DUI Penalties?
Penalties for driving under the influence are significant in Arizona. The state has a zero-tolerance policy for driving under the influence, or DUI, which means that you can get arrested if you have alcohol in your system when you drive, even if you are below the legal limit. DUI cases are broken down into three categories, and within those categories, the penalties become more severe for multiple infractions. If you are charged with a DUI, hire a defense attorney immediately to protect your rights. Here is a look at the penalties for DUI in Arizona.
Drivers are charged with standard DUIs when their blood alcohol contents, or BACs, are .08 or more. For a first offense, drivers face 10 days in jail and $1,500 in fines. An interlock device will be placed on the vehicle for 12 months. Drivers face either a 90-day license suspension or one-year revocation. For a second offense, drivers may be sentenced to 90 days in jail. Fines go up to $3,500 and a one-year license suspension is required, along with 30 hours of community service.
Extreme DUIs involve BACs of .15 or more. The first offense is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, fines of $2,780, 12 months of using an interlock device, and a 90-day license suspension. For second offenses, the punishment rises to 120 days in jail, and fees increase to $3,740. Thirty hours of community service are required, and licenses are revoked for one year.
Super Extreme DUI
These serious cases involve BACs of .20 or more. With conviction, jail time is 45 days for a first offense and 180 days for a second offense. Fines are $3,240 for first-time offenders and $4,650 for second offenses. For first time offenders, an interlock device is required for 18 months after a 90-day license suspension, while second-time offenders lose their licenses for one year and must use an interlock device for 24 months. They must also do 30 months of community service.
Let Janet Altschuler, Attorney at Law, fight for your rights if you’re charged with a DUI. For a criminal defense attorney in Tucson, call (520) 247-1789.